top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Rams Review Podcast

Rams Abroad!

Updated: Sep 11, 2020


Hi everyone! I'm Chris and I currently live in Dublin. I've been here about 18 months. Prior to coming to the Irish capital I lived in London, Barcelona, Virginia, Brisbane, Alabama and Derby. I grew up in Derby and my auntie and uncle took me to my first game at the Baseball Ground (I think it was versus Charlton and Paul Kitson scored) but its been in my veins ever since. I'm not on social media too much but all my mates from childhood are derby fans so WhatsApp groups, and this Twitter I recently set up. I've supported the Rams for 33 years (life sentence) any my all time favorite player is probably Dean Sturridge, or Will Hughes. Dean because he was similar to Ian Wright who is my all time fave player and Hughes because he was a home grown player with an absolute quality, one a Derby shirt hasn't realistically seen for many many years!


My current favourite player is Jason Knight. Why? He gets his head down and gets on with it. That's a sign of quality.


I've never run into a Derby fan in Ireland, but then again I'm still waiting to bump into Niall Horan!


I don't support any other teams. You can change your spouse, you can change your religion, you can change your politics, but you can never change your football club!


In terms of Phillip Cocu, I didn't fancy him at first. I thought he was dull, however I now feel I called it wrong, and what I viewed as boring, was actually dignity. Thoughts on this past season are similar to thoughts on Cocu, annoyed at first and frustrated, however I saw towards the end how they came good. I eventually saw the light! I have no expectations for the up coming season. I will obviously be annoyed somewhat with mid-table, but I accept that may be the reality given the current situation.


Football plays a big role in my life. It's like a wife I no longer fancy, but I love her so I have to tune into her every week and I will still come back to her whatever she throws at me!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page