top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Rams Review Podcast

International Rams! Korean Rams!


Hello everyone! I'm Lee and I am from Seoul, the capital city of South Korea. I'm currently a high school student, on a second grade. (In Korea, you graduate at third grade in middle school and high school).


My passion for football grew out of the 2010 World Cup. I watched Greece v South Korea and Lee Jung Soo, a defender, scored both of against Greece and Nigeria. I was so surprised that a defender scored one goal, let alone two! It was huge! Since then, I've watched football and I like the defenders more than attackers.


I watched the EFL Playoff Final in 2014 between QPR v Derby and although Derby lost that day, I became a Ram! I haven't been attended a game in person yet, but its definitely something I want to do in the future. I can't wait to be at Pride Park.

My favorite all time Derby player is Richard Keogh. He always showed his passion for the team, and was hugely underrated by Championship fans, even from Derby supporters. Currently my favorite player is Craig Forsyth, again largely underrated. He had 3 ACL injuries but the best left back we've had in recent years, I like his passion for the team. I told you I liked defenders!!


My favorite all time Korean player is Yeom Ki Hun, the left-foot-magician, who's the captain of Suwon Samsung Bluewings. He joined the team in 2010 and has been the best winger of the last decade and he's still the best in the team. He always shows passion for the team and ability at the dead-ball is unbelievable. It's kind of like watching prime-Chris Martin, Harry Wilson or Wayne Rooney!


Here in Korea there are not a lot of Derby County fans. I've only ever seen, heard of or met three fans that support The Rams, and this is very sad. But I' sure if Derby were to get promoted to the Premier League, then the Korean Rams would be increase. There is not a lot of interest in the English Football League here in Korea, those that are exposed to the league do identify Derby as Wazza's team and that Lampard was our manager.


In terms of football here in Korea, I think K League 1 is very similar to the Championship. Actually, former Derby youth player, and former Cardiff and Crystal Palace midfielder Jordan Mutch played here for Gyeongnam FC. He even said the two leagues are very similar! There are two players playing here in Korea that I think might be able to do a job for Derby. Kim In Sung at Incheon United and Han Kyo Won at Jeon-buk Hyundai Motors. Their age might be a problem, but they're the best wingers in K League now.

In addition to Derby I support my local Korean team, the Suwon Samsung Bluewings. They are from Seoul. There is another team in Seoul, FC Seoul, but they are in the west of city and I live in the east. The game I attended was FC Seoul v Suwon Bluewings in 2010. The Bluewings won 4-2, so become a Bluewings supporter. Both Seoul tmeas are huge rivals, the largest rivals in K League, much like Nottingham Forest and Derby County). I support some other teams in Europe as well, namely Real Madrid and AC Milan.


Focusing back on Derby, I really like Phillip Cocu, a class manager. He took over a tragic team but changed it with smart, young players. I he can finally get us promoted. Unfortunately, we were unable to achieve the playoffs this past season but Cocu has rebuilt the team and I'm really satisfied with it. For the season ahead we should bring some wingers and goalkeeper. If the EFL charge cannot be solved it will again be a very hard season for us.


There have been many successful Korean players making the jump to the English game recently and I expect to see a lot more in the near future. A lots of young Korean lads are starting to sign contracts with the European giants, and some have been linked with 2. Bundesliga sides. This is real positive of Korean football.

My other hobbies include write some articles about football and editing some documents in wiki. I made almost all of Derby County documents in the Korean Wiki! and still made some documents or wiki templates here.


Derby fans can follow me on Twitter and they can follow the South Korean Rams Facebook and Twitter accounts too!


*Editors Note: You can listen to Lee's podcast with us here (Rams Review Meets Lee). Lee will also be coming on the podcast again in the future!*


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page