top of page
  • Writer's pictureShane Dolan

Fan Stories: Canadian Ram

I’m Shane Dolan. I’m a American who loves Derby County and I bleed black & white. Though not born into the Rams family I’ve been adopted by it’s amazing fan base that is more a family then fans. I’m a dad, husband & Rams fan! You can follow me on Twitter here!


Derby football encompasses an entire city and spreads across the world. The club means more than just football to a lot of us. It is an escape, an attitude, a heartbeat.

Rams football is a way of life! This is their stories.


Rams fan Dan Danaher,



I am now 87, I live in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada. I emerged in 1933, and later World War. During the war, my brother and I were sent from pillow to post until in 1943 we luckily fell into the arms of Mr. and Mrs. Shaw, who lived at 8 White Street, Derby. They were a great family. My brother and I were bugged at school that we did not know about The Rams.


In my lifetime I have never veered away from the Rams, even now, when they need all the help they can do. I am always positive that we'll get back to the Premier League.


Three years ago my wife and I returned to Derby, first time or so since 1945. I still love the city, and of course Pride Park and The Rams. Old friends that I had never met, like Ian Cripps, who I have known as when we had a printed sheet to send to friends and members, Ian had a program for our trip, what a wonderful person he is. I wrote a column called, ' From the Land of the Painted Skies'. Lot's of fun, during which I run into many problems with my heart. Football like any sports has highs and lows, I've been with them all the way, like the highs best though.


Enjoy your Rams, and they will enjoy you.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page