top of page
  • Writer's pictureShane Dolan

Bleeding Black & White

I’m Shane Dolan. I’m a American who loves Derby County and I bleed black & white. Though not born into the Rams family I’ve been adopted by it’s amazing fan base that is more a family then fans. I’m a dad, husband & Rams fan! You can follow me on Twitter here!


Why am I a fan of the Derby County? Such an interesting question which is likely a different story for every black & white blooded fan who ever put on a Rams kit on match day and chanted Steve Bloomer’s Watching. Some will talk about heredity, some will talk about location while others might talk about just getting into football and picking the team they thought was the best! Either way, every single one of us has found our way to the same place...The Rams. This club is almost like a giant fraternity. We wear the colors & badge proudly and when we see someone else wearing those colors, regardless of the race, color or creed, we give a wave and a “up the Rams” as we pass. These are our stories, this is Derby seen through our eyes.

 

I spoke with Derby fan Andy Bradley.


Hi! I’m Andy. I've been a Rams fan for 30 years. I was a season ticket holder at the Baseball ground and then at Pride Park. I remember when Jim Smith joined as manager and I guess from that moment on the way The Rams played changed for the good. With an assistant manager in Steve McClaren and Jim’s eagle eye for international talent it was a real joy watching The Rams back then. The likes of Stefano Eranio, Francesco Baiano, Paulo Wanchope & Dean Sturridge really brought an entertainment element to watching Derby.


Within a couple of games I was hooked! A Ram for life. Derby 'til I die! We were competing against the big teams and winning! I was there for the promotion gave vs Crystal Palace where Robbie Van Der Laan headed in from a corner. My season ticket was behind the goal and every goal that went in I would charge forward to celebrate in hope the cameras were still on the ball nestled in the back of the net so I could get on TV! We stormed the pitch at full time that game. Celebrated all evening watching the firework display. Incredible times to be a rams fan for sure! Then the stadium was knocked down and a new era started at Pride Park.

My season ticket moved to the East Stand lower by the corner flag. The infamous first game where the flood lights failed after half an hour. Eranio scored the first goal only for it to be scrubbed out due to the floodlight failure. Then Ashley Ward scored the first ever (official) goal at Pride Park in the replay. Jim Smith's shrewd signings saw numerous men wear the famous black and white, Georgi Kinkladze, Fabrizio Ravenelli, Branko Strupar & of course Taribo West. Since then The Rams have enjoyed a few seasons at the top flight (one season in particular no Rams fan will like to talk about). Once Derby bowed out of the Premier League, we have flirted with promotion on more than a few occasions.


Derby have always been described as the sleeping giant. A team set up to compete in the Premier League, just unable to overstep the final hurdle to make it to the promised land. With three Wembley trips (one successful), following The Rams has been a rollercoaster to say the least. On and off the field antics forever filling the newspapers front and back but any Rams fan will tell you - we wouldn’t have it any other way!


Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Anton Rippon
Anton Rippon
Jun 30, 2021

Excellent piece. Interesting to get another perspective, especially from the USA where the Rams seem to have caught the imagination of one man. Let's hope other will follow.

Like
Cory Hancock
Cory Hancock
Jul 14, 2021
Replying to

Definitely Anton! Decent following here in the USA. Actually half of this podcast comes from America!

Like
bottom of page