top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Rams Review Podcast

Ben Osborn: The Low Down

Derby County have signed Ben Osborn on a free transfer. The versatile Osborn is The Rams first signing this summer. A life-long Rams fan, he will add much needed depth and experience to the club. Osborn was previously with Sheffield United. We spoke with Sheff United Way and Blades Pod to discuss what we can expect from the 29 year old.


Derby have signed Ben Osborn. What do you make of it?


Sheff United Way: I’ll be really sad, personally to see Ozzy leave but Derby is his boyhood club and I can’t begrudge him a move, he needs regular first team minutes and he never really got that at Sheffield United. Which I always felt was a shame. He was never a fans favourite but I believe he always gave us everything.


Blades Pod: I was a bit surprised to see him go, as I thought we’d keep him around for another season just because of the sheer amount of spots we need to fill in our squad this summer – and he can occupy a couple of them. However, it does also feel like it might be time for a fresh start for all parties, and injuries have started to mount up for him in recent seasons. But overall happy to see him go somewhere where he’ll hopefully be a starter, he’s a likable guy and the sort of player you generally wish the best for.


He’s played 134 times for Sheffield United since signing for them in 2019. Would you consider his time at Bramall Lane a success?


Sheff United Way: I would say he showed us glimpses of what he is ultimately capable of but there is far more in the Ben Osborn locker, we never really utilised his set piece ability, for example. I don’t think Chris Wilder ever truly fancied him as an out and out starter, so it was hard for Ozzy to nail down a place, his versatility actually worked against him. He needs to be left to play his natural game in either LWB, LM, DM or CM, he’ll do a solid job.


Blades Pod: I would, yes. He was cheap and getting that many appearances out of him – all in the top two leagues – is good value. He never really nailed down a starting spot but just having him around was a boon given his ability to play left-back, midfield, out wide and even as an attacking midfielder at times. I feel like we often praised him in quite backhanded terms – phrases that are often used are along the lines of “never lets you down”, “always at least a 6/10”, “the ideal backup” etc. A very, very handy squad player who never made a fuss about not being a starter. I should also say that he was one of our better performances in the Premier League in our 2020/21 relegation season.


He played 26 times (24 in the Premier League) for The Blades last season, how did he perform?


Sheff United Way: He was typical Osborn, worked his socks off in a sometimes futile cause. he never let the lads around him down, always puts in a shift and fans can rely on that. He’s a relatable player for me, I’m not a footballer but, like every fan, I have played at an appallingly low level and I see a lot of myself in Ben so I naturally gravitated to him as a player I had a real soft spot and affection for. He’s short, like me, left footed, like me, he often gets played out of his favoured position, like me, he works hard and gives everything, like me and unlike me, he’s very amusing on social media and seems very intelligent. The similarities end there!


Blades Pod: He did a decent job in a number of positions but the bar was basically “don’t be a disaster” given how the rest of the team was playing. To be fair to him he was a touch better than many of our other left-backs last season and put in a couple of good harrying-type midfield performances against much better opposition. He even filled in at right wingback on one occasion. For what it’s worth, my podcast co-host and I both scored him as 4/10 for the season – he was by no means the worst of our players last season, but didn’t really move the needle much either.


Were Sheffield United ever interested in re-signing him once is contract expired?


Sheff United Way: Yes, I know they were and I personally would have loved to see him remain, he’s so useful, a Swiss Army Knife of a player, who doesn’t need that? Next season could be a bit of a graft and so I believe we’ll need grafters, he’s a grafter.


Blades Pod: The reporting on this changed a few times – he was initially reported to be heading for release, then being retained, and then news of a possible takeover seemed to flip it back towards leaving. Personally I would’ve offered him a one-year-deal just due to the turnover in the rest of the squad, but it wasn’t something I felt too strongly about.


What are his strengths?


Sheff United Way: Determination, hard work, team player, fight, passion and he never shirks a tackle. He’s better on the ball than many give him credit for too.


Blades Pod: His strength is definitely his versatility but he is also a reliably hard worker who doesn’t stop running. He isn’t a mug with the ball, either – some of his best performances for us in the last few years came during an emergency stint as an attacker. His crossing is decent.


His weaknesses?


Sheff United Way: Aerially he’s not much use, although he’ll have a go. His shooting was sometimes a bit off and his first touch mixed.


Blades Pod: As for weaknesses: he’s on the small side, not particularly athletic, and over the course of his time with us never reached a stage where he was the first choice at any position.


He’s a very versatile player. What’s his best position?


Sheff United Way: I liked him at LM/LW but he probably enjoyed left of central midfield in a three the best.


Blades Pod: Honestly, quite hard to say. It sort of changed depending on the situation: he was a handy player to have in midfield for games where we were likely to be without the ball a lot, and a good option as a more attacking left wingback for ones where we were chasing a goal. I’d default to wingback being his best position although he’s better on the ball than off it.


Do you think Ben Osborn can be a good signing for Derby?


Sheff United Way: Absolutely, he’s underrated by many, does a lot of the ‘unseen’ work, gives his all and will always try to be positive. I think we saw the best of him under Slavisa Jokanovic as a front foot wide player on the left, at times he was further man forward on that left hand side. He never quite looked comfortable as a left back but a left midfielder, he really worked. I think Derby fans will appreciate his grit, resolve and endeavour. He’s a hard working, good honest pro and much more talented technically than many give him credit for. He’s also intelligent both on the pitch and off it, a student of the game and I believe he’ll go far in coaching once he hangs up his boots.


Blades Pod: Absolutely, I’d be surprised if he’s a game-changing player for you but for a newly promoted team he’ll be a handy pickup – assuming he avoids injury. Expect to see him playing lots of positions and not letting you down in any of them.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page